library book


About The Award
The ACUNS Dissertation Fellowship Award recognizes emerging students of extraordinary potential who have reached the stage of writing an advanced graduate-level dissertation on a topic of direct and demonstrable relevance to the United Nations and/or the UN system. Applications not thus related to the UN and/or UN system will not be considered.

An important component of the Award for its winner is the recognition of excellence that this entails throughout ACUNS’ global community of scholars and practitioners. The Award also includes a monetary component in the amount of $1,500.00 US.

In addition, the winner is encouraged to attend the ACUNS Annual Meeting in that same year, where she/he will be introduced and recognized as the Award winner. In that case, the winner will receive an Annual Meeting registration fee waiver (worth up to $150 of the registration fee) plus an additional award of up to $500 following the Meeting for the reimbursement of related travel and accommodations costs.

The Dissertation Award winner is encouraged to consider in the future submitting some written product to ACUNS’ journal, Global Governance. Use of any materials, however, will be at the discretion of the journal editorial team and the normal peer review process.

Eligible candidates may be citizens of any country and must be entering the writing stage of a Ph.D., J.S.D., or LL.M level degree – for example, a doctoral candidate who has defended her/his dissertation proposal and who has completed the majority of field research, and who now is writing a first draft of the dissertation. It is not intended for students who already have completed, or who are about to complete, the writing, or who are about to defend their thesis (NB for students working in a UK-context of doctoral studies, the Award relates to students who are in the beginning of their final year/year three of registration and are in the process of writing up).

Click here for the 2019 Dissertation Award application.

Past Winners
Past winners of the Dissertation Award include


Dorottya Mendly

Gabriella Lloyd
Gabriela Bueno Headshot
Gabriela Bueno
Dahlia Simangan