Plenary Sessions
There are five Plenary Sessions at the 2017 Annual Meeting: ACUNS at 30: Retrospect and Prospect; The Role of the UN in the Future of the Korean Peninsula; Protection and Promotion of Human Rights in Humanitarian Crises; Agenda 2030 – Achieving Progress towards the SDGs; Agenda for the New Secretary-General.

Download the biographies for all program and plenary speakers at the Annual Meeting.

Plenary I
ACUNS at 30: Retrospect and Prospect

Kyu-dok Hong, Professor, Sookmyung Women’s University

Lorraine Elliott, Chair, ACUNS; Professor, Australian National University
Sukehiro Hasegawa, President, Global Peacebuilding Association of Japan
Charlotte Ku, Professor of Law, Texas A&M University School of Law
Ramesh Thakur, Director, Centre for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, Crawford School, Australian National University

Plenary II
The Role of the UN in the Future of the Korean Peninsula

Thomas Biersteker, Curt Gasteyger Professor of International Security and Conflict Studies, The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies

Toshiya Hoshino, Professor, Osaka University
Sung-han Kim, Professor and Dean, Graduate School of International Studies, Korea University; Former Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Xuexian Wang, Former Deputy Director-General, Department of International Organizations and Conferences, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Former Deputy Permanent Representative of China to the United Nations; Former Ambassador to South Africa

Plenary III
Protection and Promotion of Human Rights in Humanitarian Crises

Eunsook Chung
, Senior Research Fellow, Sejong Institute

Ai Kihara-Hunt, Associate Professor, University of Tokyo
Kurt Mills, Professor, University of Dundee
Mónica Serrano, Professor, EI Colegio de Mexico; Senior Research Associate, Center for International Studies, Oxford University

Plenary IV
Agenda 2030 – Achieving Progress towards the SDGs

Otto Spijkers, University Lecturer, Utrecht University School of Law

Stephen Browne, Co-founder, Future UN Development System; Visiting Lecturer, Graduate Institute Geneva
Mike Hardy, Executive Director, Centre for Trust, Peace and Social Relations, Coventry University
Modesto Seara Vazquez, Rector, Oaxaca State University System
Haibin Zhang, Professor, School of International Studies, Director of the Center for International Organization Studies, Peking University

Plenary V
Agenda for the New Secretary-General

Ingvild Bode, Lecturer, University of Kent

Karin Abbor-Svensson, Programme Manager for ‘Hammarskjöld’s Legacy’, Dag Hammarskjöld Foundation
Joon Oh, Professor, Kyung Hee University; Former Ambassador to the United Nations, Republic of Korea
Francesco Mancini, Assistant Dean and Visiting Associate Professor, National University of Singapore
Sebastian von Einsiedel, Director, UN University – Centre for Policy Research